The (Classic) Setup

I really love Shawn Blanc’s Sweet Mac Setups series. The idea is simple and powerful: you contribute 1-3 photos of your current setup, and answer six questions:

  1. What does your desk look like? [Photos here]
  2. What is your current mac setup?
  3. Why are you using this setup?
  4. What software do you use on a daily basis, and for what do you use it?
  5. Do you own any other mac gear?
  6. Do you have any future upgrades planned?

This way, as Shawn aptly puts it, you can geek out over people’s workspace, software, and hardware. Since I wrote that post about My vintage writing corner, I’ve been thinking: how about doing a similar experiment, but with classic, vintage setups? I know there are a lot of vintage Mac geeks out there who, like me, still put their beige Macs to good use. Surely, along their modern setup, they’ll have a corner, small desk, or other secondary space with their vintage setup. If you’re one of them, and you would like to display your setup and talk about the classic hardware and software you still use (remember, nothing newer than Mac OS 9), consider dropping me a line (you can see my email in the sidebar). The questions are fewer and slightly different from Shawn Blanc’s Sweet Mac Setups, and are as follows:

  1. What does your desk look like? [Photos here]
  2. What is your vintage Mac setup?
  3. Why are you using this setup?
  4. What software do you use, and for what do you use it?

That’s it. In the following days I’ll try to invite some people whom I think might be interested in giving their contribution, but feel free to contact me if you like the idea and are a serious vintage Mac user/aficionado. If you decide to answer the questions and send me your setup description, don’t forget to add a brief profile and a link to a personal website or blog. Thanks in advance for your time!

3 thoughts on “The (Classic) Setup

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.