My Classic Setup: Luciano D.

When Luciano contacted me and sent his contribution including links to many photos of his vintage Mac collection, I was amazed and humbled. I really wish I could have such a well-organised space and, of course, such an extensive and varied collection. When you find someone who owns not one, but two 20th Anniversary Macintoshes, you just stop, shut up and admire.

He wrote me:

I started in advertising in 1985. On my first job I asked and got a shiny new Mac 128K. From then on my machines have always been Macs. In fact, many of the machines I have collected are the same tools — now obsolete — that my various employers gave me instead of throwing them away.

In the early 1990s I worked at an agency that used NeXT computers only. After a few years, following NeXT’s demise, I was instructed to migrate all systems to the Mac platform. One of those NeXT machines is still showcased on my shelf.

About half of the compact Macs in my collection are machines I’ve personally purchased over the years, and since I just couldn’t bring myself to sell them at the first signs of obsolescence, I began to amass them at my parents’ place, until ten years ago I could finally arrange a space that would allow me to use them all together. What can I say? The charm of modern art / vintage always gets the best of me.

Luciano’s Setup

1. What does your desk look like?

Here are some photos:

Luciano's setup
I love that Apple Computer world map, among (many) other things.
Luciano's setup
Macs, Macs everywhere (and NeXTs). I've always wanted a 15-inch Macintosh Portrait Display to use with my Quadra 700, then I had to relocate and things got complicated.

2. What is your vintage Mac setup?

It often changes, but the two Macs I use most are a Quadra 950 with a PPC upgrade card, and a Power Macintosh 9600/350:

Luciano's workhorses
Luciano's main workhorses -- a Quadra 950 and a Power Macintosh 9600/350 -- up close and personal.

3. Why are you using this setup?

I use the Quadra 950 to make scans with the excellent Apple Color OneScanner 600/27, much much better than many cheap USB scanners available today. The Quadra 950 is also used to create boot floppies for my compact Macs, or to test hard drives and other SCSI peripherals.

4. What software do you use, and for what do you use it?

On the Quadra 950 I use Photoshop 2.5 to handle the 600/27 scanner, MS Word 5.1, and Freehand 5 to convert old files from my archives. The Power Macintosh 9600/350 is used to create backups of my audio CDs with Toast 3. Furthermore, since it is equipped with two 9 GB hard drives, it works as a general backup repository for all the other smaller Macs.

Admittedly they’re not the fastest machines on earth, but for my simple needs they are an excellent solution and they’ve been remarkably dependable for so many years, never giving the least sign of breakdown.

2 thoughts on “My Classic Setup: Luciano D.

Leave a Reply

